My First Rodeo

July 2, 2012 § 2 Comments

What could be more wild west than a summertime hometown rodeo? Last week, we went to the Carbondale Rodeo to get a glimpse of the real cowboy way. I felt like I had been inserted into the next small town high school rom-com movie set, Friday night rodeo scene. My favorite part was crowd watching as it seemed like the whole town attends–grandparents in flannel, families with mini cowboy tots grilling out the back of their trucks , tweens with braces in cut-offs and hoops. It was a wild experience (haha).

Cowboy Team Roping a Steer

More Cowboy Teams Roping a Steer

My favorite event was the Kid’s Calf Scramble where all kids ages 5-10 hop in the ring and try to pull a ribbon of the tail of a calf. It is hysterical.

Preparing for their close-up

We got a special treat for the holiday. What could be more American than girls in sparkly leotards riding horses and waving flags?

Look who was in the crowd! Heyy Brother.

Now this entire post was really just a ploy to boast that I saw Buster, but I’d still like to keep some semblance of a food-focus here. I’m throwing in a recipe I haven’t tried out–does it count that I intend to when it’s not 107 degrees everywhere in the country since it is chili after all? If I learned anything from Top Chef Austin it’s that Texans do not include beans in their chili. But I’m not a Texan and I like the idea of an extra kick of fiber and protein in there. I thought this recipe looked well-reviewed and easy enough (3 steps in definitely my style) and resembles the first chili I ever had at Bohemia Bagel. General consensus seems to be to substitute ground cloves for whole.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to My First Rodeo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My First Rodeo at .

meta

