Martin’s BBQ Joint, Nashville

July 9, 2012 § 1 Comment

If you couldn’t tell from this post or this post, I essentially stalk Martin’s BBQ. So the obvious Nashville fix for our first meal back home had to be the one and only. Saturday morning we worked up an appetite (I’m sorry that was misleading, we didn’t actually work out, we just waited till noon) and then trekked out to Nolensville for a BBQ feast.

The atmosphere is fun and funky and pork-obsessed. You can usually find Pitmaster Pat himself under the big screen behind the bar. If you are unfamiliar with Martin’s, the specialty there is whole hog. Inside is an enormous smoker where they cook pigs for a full 24 hours.

Unbelievable. I still gape when I see it. It also fills the entire restaurant with a meaty, smokey scent. Your hair will smell like meat all day.

When you can’t decide what to order… just order everything. You won’t be disappointed.

Cornucopia of meats! Brisket, Spare Ribs (wet), Baby Backs (dry rub), Pulled Pork, Smoked Chicken.

Brisket Tacos. Unexpected and Delicious

The infamous Redneck Taco. The PERFECT combo – pulled pork + spicy vinegar sauce + sweet and cool cole slaw. Oh and it’s all served on a cornbread cake.

I know, I know, it’s so tempting to go for the ribs or pork but these wings are some of the best wings I’ve ever tasted. I found myself going back to them despite all the other goodies!

It’s great to be back! I am heading to the Nashville Farmer’s Market to try my first Grilled Cheeserie tomorrow- what to order??

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Martin’s BBQ Joint, Nashville

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Martin’s BBQ Joint, Nashville at .

meta