Lemon Pepper Chicken Skewers with Tzatziki Dip

July 20, 2012 § 2 Comments

This weekend I was invited to a potluck dinner birthday celebration (great idea) and was in charge of an appetizer.  Being a typical girl, I thought, “Oh I’ll do something nice and light” (or fat-free, low-cal, fad-diet friendly etc). I remembered an important lesson from the great Ina Garten to go for an app that is great at any temperature, so I ditched the dip and even my beloved bruschetta for a skewered protein. I’ve been on a huge Greek Yogurt kick so when I found this Tzatziki recipe,   I knew it was love.

Something “nice and light”

The appetizer was a huge hit and so easy to put together. It was perfect for the warm weather and I could see this dish being great May through September.

I don’t want to get too graphic with the raw chicken, we’re not in France. But marinate for 2-3 hours.

Marinade: 1/4 c. e.v.o.o + 4 cloves minced garlic + 2 tbsp. lemon juice + 1 tsp black pepper + 1 tsp salt + 1/2 tsp thyme

Whisk together and mix with bite-sized boneless skinless chicken breast. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours.

While grilling, I would douse with additional lemon juice and pepper.

Fresh Dill. I used a lot more than the 2 tsp the recipe suggests and I recommend at least 1 tbsp.

The recipe made a ton of dip so if you’re party is not large, feel free to downsize or cut in half.

What’s that? Are you inviting me to your next barbecue? Why yes, I’d be happy to bring my skewers.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Lemon Pepper Chicken Skewers with Tzatziki Dip

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lemon Pepper Chicken Skewers with Tzatziki Dip at .

meta

