Tavern Brunch, Nashville

July 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

Let me just start by saying I love any atmosphere that’s conducive to cocktails. I’d been to Tavern before to enjoy the later bar scene and small plates but when the suggestion came up for brunch, I was interested to the see if the scene was the same. With just a wee wait (even with a party of 5!), we were able get one of those large, wraparound booths perfect for people watching or concentrating on what seems to be the national bowling championships on ESPN (it was a lot more exciting than it sounds) on one of their enormous TV’s. The crowd was good-looking, well-dressed and in my expert opinion, down for a drink. The menu had some different options outside the eggs-benedict-box which I was excited to see (i.e. Singapore Stir-Fry) and all in all it was a great brunch experience. I would definitely return.

Ok, these weren’t actually on the menu but hey, when a girl’s gotta have cheese fries, she’s gotta have cheese fries. They were nice enough to comply and the cheese was a delicious, spicy dip that could definitely double as queso.

Singapore Stir-Fry. Why is rice from restaurants so sticky and perfect?? I can never get that texture at home. The flavors were sort of similar to take-out fried rice but it tasted healthier and the bite of cilantro really brightened it up.

Can never go wrong with a good ole’ bacon cheeseburger.

Huevos Rancheros are normally my go-to so I was so glad when someone else at the table ordered them. Cheese and tortilla in a skillet. Yum.

I don’t know about you but I love getting something sweet to share among the table at brunch. Blueberry Cornmeal Waffle does the trick.

 

 

 

 

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Tavern Brunch, Nashville

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tavern Brunch, Nashville at .

meta

