Sunday Brunch Menu

July 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

I love chalkboards. This is meant to host our Nashville bucket list but it’s too fun to not update!

This Sunday we hosted  a little brunch in exchange for getting some prints and pictures that had been lying around the house finally hung (and as an extra bonus got to have a little dog run around!). I thought 1:00 seemed a little late for the french-toast-casserole-route so the dishes leaned more toward savory–save the scones.

I like to plan out my oven time so I know how long before people start to arrive I have to start getting things in. With the quiche taking an hour, I wanted to get the scones in first so that we’d have something to munch on if it went over time.

Some people are just not scone people (my mom) but I thought these had just the right touch of sweetness and a tartness from the lemon and cran combo. I used the recipe from Candice Kumai’s Pretty Delicious which focuses on health conscious recipes so with 4 grams of protein and only 4 grams of fat, you really don’t need to feel guilty ending (or starting) brunch on a sweet note.

I like the triangle shape so as not to be confused with a biscuit. They just beg for a spot of tea.

This was the first time I tried making a quiche. I found this recipe by Martha Stewart but am not a huge fan of leeks so filled my quiche with zucchini, tomato and gruyère instead. I’m guessing any veggies that float your boat would do.

I sauteed the zucchini for 5 minutes in a little bit of olive oil, salt, pepper and basil and tossed in some sliced plum tomatoes for the last minute.

 

I got caught using a frozen pie crust when the filling overflowed on me but it turned out just fine.

The Skinny Mini BLT’s were also from Pretty Delicious. I love the extra health kick from the avocado and the cookie cutter shapes were a really cute idea!

The book recommends toasting the bread and oven-baking the bacon at the same time to save time. I would take the toasts out before the bacon though, mine were just a tad overdone.

The spicy-sweet honey mustard was perfect with the saltiness of the bacon. 1/2 cup dijon mustard with 1 tbsp. honey.

To round out the meal, I kept the spring salad simple and used the ole’ fried goat cheese trick. All in all, very easy to complete. I wouldn’t necessarily call anything “make ahead” in the sense where I would do it the night before, but all of these recipes are PERFECT for entertaining because nothing has to be served hot out of the oven. I just let them collect on my counter as I moved onto each new recipe.

I haven’t gotten great at presentation. I bet you could go nuts with cute china for the scones and little plates for the BLT’s

 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Brunch Menu at .

meta

