F. Scott’s Restaurant & Jazz Bar, Nashville

July 31, 2012 § 2 Comments

Sometimes, there is nothing like a good ole’ fashioned date night to liven up a lazy Saturday. So last week when we found ourselves without plans, we got jazzed up and headed to F. Scott’s.

On a Saturday night, you will most probably have to go with valet, the whole mall is PACKED.

Something about the 1920’s theme makes you feel like a night out on the town so hitting up the jazz bar before or after dinner is the real reason to visit. The lounge is separate from the dining room so even if you have dinner reservations, the seating for the music is first come, first served. They even have a separate menu with some upscale bar dishes so if you want to hang out there and just get cocktails and apps, that would be fun too.

Of course I took the pic with the pink soup in front of me and then as soon as the camera was down dug into the meaty flatbread.

We chose to the dinner route and were not disappointed. First off was probably my favorite thing of the night–the Market Flatbread.

Favorite bite of the night.

Tonight it featured fig jam with onions, tomato, beef short rib and cheese. It was finger lickin’ good. Though this is not really a finger lickin’ sort of establishment.

Spiced Watermelon Gazpacho, Cucumber Ice, Basil Herb Oil

I also do this thing where I know I don’t like gazpacho but I go ahead and order it anyway because the flavors sound so good together. Something about my palate being confused as to why it is chilled turns me off. I’m sure to the more sophisticated palate, this is delicious.

Orzo Pasta, Avocado, Cucumber, Cauliflower, Scallion, Roasted Red Bell Peppers, Sherry Vinaigrette, Phyllo Crisp, Sunflower Sprouts

Do not underestimate this orzo salad. The combination seems so simple, so obvious, but it was bright with a little acid and a creaminess from the avocado and really refreshing.

Braised Rabbit Hindquarter, Rabbit Tenderloin Scaloppini with Rabbit Paté, Roasted Fingerling Potatoes, Sautéed Tatsoi, Natural Jus

The bonus of sharing it all (besides getting to taste more dishes and saving calories) is that I never would have settled on the rabbit on my own but I am so glad I got to try this one. The “jus” is delicious and though I didn’t care for the paté, the meat on the bone really surprised me. It was sort of like duck in consistency but a little more gamey and salty to taste.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to F. Scott’s Restaurant & Jazz Bar, Nashville

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading F. Scott’s Restaurant & Jazz Bar, Nashville at .

meta

