Porcini, Philadelphia

August 15, 2012 § 2 Comments

Don’t even get me or any Philadelphian started on The Barnes Foundation–just watch The Art of The Steal and you will be outraged too. Since I attended high school near the Merion location, the former residence was a popular field trip destination. However, my mom had tickets and my brother was in from CA so the family was going to the new campus. The art is still incredible–an amazing collection of impressionist and post-impressionist work with the largest collection of Renoirs in the world. It should be an absolute top priority if you are planning a trip. After taking it all in, it was time for a great meal

We head to Porcini near Rittenhouse, a fabulous Italian BYO with melt-in-your-mouth handmade pastas. The space is very small and the tables get noisy, which I like. You’ll see the owners schmoozing the guests and it gives the all around feeling that you are at an enormous, Italian family dinner.

Mussels and Prosciutto con Melone. Perfect starters–both light, one sweet, one savory

Pulpo e Calamari. This was perfectly dressed with a light lemony olive oil but it went too quickly for our table.

I ordered the pasta special, penne arrabiata. This version had shrimp and even though it wasn’t the spiciest version I’ve had, the sauce is still delectable. I cleaned my plate.

Gnocchi con Salsiccia. I always think of gnocchi as so heavy but these little guys were so light and delicate. With the sausage though, the dish is definitely filling. More of that amazing tomato sauce.

Vitello Affumicato. The veal was thin and savory and so good, I don’t even think it needed the mozzarella, although I guess everything is better with cheese.

The entree special was halibut and it was perfectly cooked with just a light lemon-wine-caper sauce. Perfection

THIS is the star of the night. I forget the name but it translates to “a thousand clouds” and this was light was air with soft layers of crispy pastry and the sweetest creams you’ve ever tasted. I am a huge cannoli fan but they paled in comparison. Call ahead and see if they have it.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Porcini, Philadelphia

  • I’ve never been to the Barnes Foundation! I’ll have to check it out some time. Porcini looks pretty good too!

    • I highly recommend The Barnes! It recently re-opened in a new downtown location, and I must admit, the building is gorgeous. The interior was designed to mimic Dr. Barnes’ home. We went on a Friday night and they were playing live jazz with a cocktail bar set up too! Porcini was the perfect accompaniment but unfortunately not walking distance if you plan to make a night of it :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Porcini, Philadelphia at .

meta

