Arugala with Diced Dates and Blue Cheese

August 23, 2012 § 3 Comments

This week I inadvertently made a transitional salad. I didn’t realize the combination would have subtle hints of fall to come while still being sweet and peppery enough for August. I used store-bought diced dates so the process was a cinch, just a matter of whipping up the dressing.

Toss arugala with diced dates. BOOM two ingredients done.

I quickly learned shredding was not the way to go–blue cheese is much easier to crumble by hand.

Dressing from Gourmet Made Simple:

1 shallot minced (unless you are a huge fan of shallots, I would maybe use 1/2)
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp vegetable stock 
1 tsp honey

I personally thought my shallots were not “minced” enough, I prefer a finer texture but the larger pieces provide much more of a bite.

Whisk it all together. I actually used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock since I had it on hand. I can’t imagine the overall effect is very different but it is worth a test!

The sweetness of the dates and creaminess of the blue cheese balances the peppery arugala and bite from the shallots for a perfect warm-weather-turning effect.

I think it’s good now through October.

Something about this combo is just SCREAMING for a flatbread variation…

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Arugala with Diced Dates and Blue Cheese

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Arugala with Diced Dates and Blue Cheese at .

meta

