Shrimp BLT Tacos

August 27, 2012 § 1 Comment

You’ll notice the “L” in BLT is missing.I guess if you are going to forget one ingredient, it may as well be the L…

 

File it under “easy, healthy, weeknight dinners”. These are so tasty and so quick to prepare and clean up that you can make them no matter what you have on schedule that evening.

I used about 1 piece of bacon per taco.

I have found that oven baking bacon is easiest for control. 10-15 minutes at 375° (depending on how crispy you like prefer bacon).

Just run them under water for 20 seconds and let stand for 5 minutes to thaw.

 

While the bacon is going, you can get started on the other ingredients. I used Trader Joe’s frozen shrimp which are pre-cooked, peeled and deveined. I heated them up in a skillet with some salt and pepper so they would be warm with the tacos.

I’ll admit it, I fried my tacos. Just a 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil and high heat for 10-15 seconds per side will puff these guys up. Make sure they are FLOUR tortillas.

 

Now for the avocado crème from Gourmet Made Simple.

1 avocado, diced
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
1/4 sour cream
1/4 tsp ground cumin
The ingredients call for 1-3 tbsp water depending on desired consistency which I did not include since I preferred the chunky texture. I did add 1 small clove garlic which I definitely recommend.

Blend avocado, lime juice, sour cream, cumin and garlic in blender or food processor.

I preferred the chunkier texture.

Serve with diced tomatoes and top with fresh chopped cilantro.

Best enjoyed outside on a mild August night with a glass of wine and someone to share with :)

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Shrimp BLT Tacos

  • Guacamole « says:

    […] party so I scoured the internet for the quintessential guacamole recipe. I was tempted to use this avocado crème because it is so easy and tasty but that is better for spreading on tacos than dipping chips in. So […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shrimp BLT Tacos at .

meta

