Tortellini with Yogurt, Mint & Smoked Paprika Oil

September 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

I have been obsessed recently with a cookbook I’ve had for a few years now but have re-dsicovered: Rozanne Gold’s Radically Simple. The techniques and processes are so basic (with very short ingredients lists) yet the results taste so sophisticated. I was looking for a pasta that veered from typical tomato-based sauces and I was super-impressed with this dish. I can’t believe something I made tastes so exotic (it is a riff off a Turkish dish).

Ingredients:
1 pound fresh cheese or meat tortellini
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp. sweet smoked paprika
1 large garlic clove, peeled and smashed
1 cup plain Greek yogurt, room temperature
1/3 cup torn fresh mint leaves

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the tortellini and cook 8 minutes, until tender. Meanwhile in a small bowl, combine 5 tbsp. of the olive oil, the smoked paprika, garlic, and a large pinch of salt. In another bowl, whish together the yogurt, 2 more tbsp. oil, salt to taste. Drain the pasta well, shake dry. Toss the pasta with the remaining 1 tbsp oil and add salt and pepper. Divide among 4 bowls. Top with the yogurt, mint, and drizzle with the smoked paprika oil.

I heated my oil ingredients up for a minute to try and draw out a little more of the garlic.

I used orecchiette instead of tortellini since I was serving this as a side dish with lamb and didn’t want the meal to get too heavy. But I bet this is even better with the stuffed pasta and I am definitely trying it that way.

She also recommends topping with some grated pecorino.

Because I served mine immediately, I did not toss the pasta with olive oil, salt and pepper and this was fine. I also served this with a spicy wine braised lamb that was the perfect accompaniment–the yogurt and mint make this a really cool pasta and a nice balance to the spicy meat.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tortellini with Yogurt, Mint & Smoked Paprika Oil at .

meta

