Nutella Stuffed Brown Butter and Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 2, 2012 § 6 Comments

Last week I received an email from my friend (Emily of Once In A Blue Room) with the subject simply, “I. Want. This. Cookie.” Naturally, I was intrigued. I clicked the link and was brought to a brilliant post at Ambitious Kitchen for what the author claims to be her favorite cookie ever. You had me at Nutella. So when last weekend we trekked to Tuscaloosa for the game, I knew exactly what I would be bringing to the tailgate.

Dry Ingredients

If you have never browned butter before, it is easier to melt in small pieces.

Over medium heat, constantly whisk butter until it fully melts. After a few minutes, it will start to foam (like so) and after this, it will begin to brown. As soon as you see brown particles start to gather in the bottom the pan, remove immediately and pour into a cool bowl. It will smell nutty.

Once you mix the butter and sugars together, it will smell like the best caramel ever and you will be tempted to stop here and dive in.

Once you combine the dry/wet mixes and add the chips, it is important to chill in the refrigerator. You can see the chips are even softening here from the warm butter.

Ok here is where it gets a little messy but if you choose to lick nutella off your fingers in between cookies, I won’t judge.

Before and After

Stuffed with goodness. A generous heaping of coarse sea salt is an absolute must.

These cookies were the perfect salty sweet combo and they really stayed fresh and moist from the nutella. Next time though, I may try using all dark chocolate or semi-sweet chips since that is what I prefer in my cookies.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Nutella Stuffed Brown Butter and Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nutella Stuffed Brown Butter and Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies at .

meta

