Southern Artisan Cheese Festival

October 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

When I found out there was a cheese fest going on, there was no way I could not attend. It’s clear I love me some cheese (here, here and here) so even the fall chill couldn’t bring us down at the Nashville Farmer’s Market this past weekend. For $44, we got to sample goods from over 20 cheesemakers across the Southeast as well as wine and craft beer. Though there were some organizational issues at first (this is only the festival’s second year), the cheese-hungry crowd figured it out and we soon tried so much, I think I got cheesed-out (I know, I didn’t think it was possible either but when Whole Foods was giving out apple slices, I had never been happier to see the fruit). It was a super indulgent way to spend a Saturday–someone mentioned “bucket-list worthy”–and I hope to attend for many years to come.

Bonnyclabber Cheese from Sullivan’s Pond Farm

Some of my favorite bites were not straight cheese but the spreadable goat cheeses blended with herbs, nuts, savory preserves, etc. from Stone Hollow Creamery in Birmingham. These things make entertaining a no-brainer.

Wine to wash it all down. My favorite was from Le Mistral

With so many dairy farms present, there were some delectable ice cream choices. We went with Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams–the Dark Chocolate is TO DIE FAR it is so rich, it tastes like frozen brownie mix. Perfectly paired with Goat Cheese and Cherry

Our favorite takeaway was The Preservation Society’s Pepper Jelly (we came home with two jars). It was so sweet and peppery it’s good any time of day. I was thrilled to learn they also sell in Whole Foods so I can restock easily.

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Southern Artisan Cheese Festival at .

meta

