A Very Special Weekend Roundup

November 5, 2012 § 3 Comments

This past weekend was one that I had been looking forward to for a long time. Not one, not two, but three very special events were colliding and I couldn’t wait to get the weekend started.

We kicked it off Nashville style with the 46th Annual CMA Awards. This event was so much fun and I am so glad it’s home is in Nashville! Not only was it one star-studded performance after another, but the fans and the energy in the crowd had a contagious,  anything-goes kind of feel- from cut-offs to ball gowns.

Next, my mom and my sister came into town for a visit and some wedding planning. Of course we had to show off our favorite joint, Patrick Martin’s, so they could taste what real bbq is.

We definitely do not have this at Philly “barbecues” when we grill hot dogs and hamburgers. It’s very impressive to a Northerner

We also wanted to bring them to what just might be our favorite date spot in Nashville, City House. Our waiter even let it slip that they were catering to Anthony Bourdain after his show. I love the wine in the picture below, Glornata Gemellaia, Sangiovese, Merlot, Paso Verdot, Paso Robles, CA 2010 which I’ve ordered at two different dinners now and it’s paired with everything.

Pre-Tony

And then I came face to face with my long-time celebrity personality crush, Anthony Bourdain. I spent many a lazy college afternoon watching No Reservations, devoured Kitchen Confidential (and the not quite-as-good Medium Raw) and stood in a jam-packed Barnes & Noble in NY to hear him speak with David Chang.

Up close & personal in the front row. I have the best fiance in the world.

My answer to the “what’s your dream job?” question was always the same, “Anthony Bourdain’s sidekick.” Listening to him speak Saturday at TPAC, I got to hear the inside scoop of just what it would take to be on his team–namely, humiliation, exhaustion, lots of strange food, too much liquor and a dash of skirting the law. Maybe I should just enjoy getting my fix from his upcoming CNN show.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to A Very Special Weekend Roundup

  • looks SO amazing!! and you are seriously looking fabulous in every picture these days.

  • Lannae Long says:

    What great events! Yes, Martin’s on Saturday is the way to go. And, A.B. was great. I got to get my photo taken with him. :) And, I am the only one who he thanked for the question asked during the Q&A. I have been wanting to know the answer for years after watching that episode which touched me greatly. I wanted to know how his guide, drive and translator in Lebanon (1st show during the downed Israeli pilots crisis) was, and how his family was because they could not leave the hotel with fear of being shot. All he could do is see over to his neighborhood in flames. Luckily, at the time, the translator was able to go get his family, all alive, and flee to Syria. They are now back in Lebanon.

    • Yes! I do remember that question and how glad he was to report on it. I can’t imagine living through something like that. I am very jealous of your picture with him. Tony will have to come back to Nashville to get to know our city and food…Hope you holiday season is going well!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Very Special Weekend Roundup at .

meta

