Lemon Garlic Shrimp and Couscous

December 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

I know what you’re thinking – lemony, garlic shrimp in December? Preposterous. But seeing as how the temps this week reached 70°, I thought what the hey. So I made it and it was delicious. Very basic flavors, very simple to do. Sometimes it’s nice not to over-think things.

Now because I was working with precooked and deveined shrimp, this was a super fast start-to-finish cook time. Step 1 was to get the couscous going. Someone in my home is a very big fan of Israeli or pearl couscous. I normally just buy the Near East boxed kind but thought I should know how to make my own by now. So I went for the tri-colored.

Couscous

Cook your couscous per instructions.  I added 1 cup couscous to 1 and 1/4 cup boiling water with 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp butter. Simmer for 10 minutes

shrimpMy shrimp still had some ice so I ran them under water for a few seconds. Then, toss them in a large skillet with 1 tbsp. heated olive oil. Add 2 cloves chopped garlic with 1 tbsp. lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste.

Adding the lemon juice

After sauteeing for about 5 minutes, you should be good to go! Top off the couscous and shrimp with grated parmesan cheese and garnish with fresh lemon.

This whole thing took maybe 15 minutesThe perfect accompaniment is mixed greens with cherry tomatoes, walnuts and my new favorite dressing: Trader Joe’s Pear Champagne Vinaigrette. The sweetness of the pear balances the tangy, salty, lemony shrimp.

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lemon Garlic Shrimp and Couscous at .

meta

